Movie Review: Ang Kwento Nating Dalawa ( The Story of us that never was) by Nestor Abrogena

Before I gonna give my review on this movie, I just wanna say that I’m so excited writing this one like super duper excited. HAHAHA. KTNXBYE. 

 

From one of the scenes of the movie. (Ctto)

The movie is about a young film maker and an aspiring writer who struggle to make something out of their relationship. In a world of cliché romantic stories, dramatic heartbreaks and almost love affairs , what makes a bond between two people different, unique and special? Is it the happy ending that matters or is it the journey that makes the entire experience worth all the pain? (Source: Ang Kwento Nating Dalawa Facebook Page)

When I saw the trailer of this film months ago, I was really intrigued what it is all about. The title “Ang Kwento Nating Dalawa” itself shouts mystery and it made me think possible cliché story scenarios running at the back of my mind until I watched the film one day and boom ~the feels bes! Tagos sa heart at buto~.

Personally, I was blown away by the film itself. I love everything about it. A lot of people commented about scenes that are quite dragging the story line but I have no issues about that. I love how this film speaks emotions even if there’s no dialogues being said by the lead characters to each other. It is truly an action speaks louder than words.

When I read blog reviews, I was amazed that the train scene (please see the photo above) was shot discreetly. I never expect that the camera was hidden inside the bag but the outcome, just wow. I could not put words into it and I’m aware that I’m exaggerating.

Cinematography wise, the team behind this film did a job well done.

Movie soundtrack is superb. I love how they use OPM songs that are really unique and it made me listen to it over and over again (courtesy of youtube). The songs are wisely chosen and it is something that gives more suave to the film. Walang Hanggan by Quest, Hanggang Kailan Kita Mahihintay by Paolo Valenciano, and Minahal Kita by Juliane are my personal favorites. The feels. I feel like listening to spoken words.

Movie Scenes. My personal favorite is the taxi ride of Isa and Sam going to Isa’s apartment. It speaks emotions even the silence itself speaks emotions. Quotang-quota sa feels talaga eh.

Movie Lines. A film of few words but speaks volumes. Below is my favorite line of the movie:

“Mahal mo?” 

“Oo”

“Mahal ka?”

“Siguro”

Characters. I love the chemistry of Nicco Manalo and Emmanuelle Vera. Kudos to these two for portraying the characters of Isa and Sam very well.

Story line. I don’t want to spoil anything to those who haven’t watch it but all I can say, this is not your typical love story. The twist is mind blowing.

Overall impression. great movie for those who want to watch films that conveys a lot of emotions. Highly recommended.

For information about movie screenings and whereabouts, click here.

P.S. There is a sequel of this film entitled Tayo sa Huling Buwan ng Taon showing later this year.

Leave a Reply

